Articles

Why I abandoned self-hosted WordPress and returned to the mothership

In WordPress.com, WordPress.org on October 6, 2010 by Arno

Here is a question a lot of WordPress-bloggers ask themselves sooner or later: do I go self-hosted with WordPress or choose for blogging on WordPress.com?

I asked myself this question just a few weeks ago and choose the latter for my blog on cricket – cricket-blog.nl.

Most WordPress-bloggers probably take the reverse route – going from .com to .org – but this blog had always been a self-hosted WordPress-blog.

I migrated it to WordPress.com for the following reasons.

1. Hassle free

Self-hosted WordPress has a lot to offer that you won’t get blogging on WordPress.com. But I found those extras to be maintenance mostly.

To me, there always seemed to be an upgrade for either WordPress (10 upgrades in one year counting from august 2009 till now), plugins or themes that I hadn’t done yet.

Call me lazy, but I don’t like the hassle. Doing upgrades is like doing the dishes. And I’ve got a machine to take care of that job.

On WordPress.com, you don’t have to worry about upgrades. Everything is done for you. Here, I can just sit back and relax instead of planning another round of upgrading.

And since migrating a month ago, I have enjoyed two upgrades to the stats-section without doing a single thing. Nice.

2. Less options

By switching to WordPress.com I have limited myself and it feels great. This one might sound odd at first, but I really find the restrictions quite liberating.

With a self-hosted blog you can literally do whatever you want. In my case, this meant constantly tweaking the look and feel and workings of the site, while I should have been focusing on writing good posts.

On WordPress.com the range of options is limited, which suites me just fine.

I understand the fun in tweaking a site, but like with keeping up with upgrades, it just costs me to much – valuable – spare time. Time I rather spend writing.

3. A great community

Blogging is all about readers. You want others to read your work and have them comment on it. But how do they find you?

I found switching to WordPress.com makes it easier for others to find your blog. Whether its through the dashboard, tag pages, freshly pressed or the list with related posts.

There is such a big community out on WordPress.com and it will get you visitors that wouldn’t have seen your blog if it were self hosted.

4. Free of charge

Not the most important reason for me to switch, but not completely irrelevant either.

WordPress.com offers great blogging software that I would be happy to pay for, as I did for hosting, but paying absolutely nothing makes it even better 🙂

Happy now?

Oh yes! I’m happy not having to bother about updates and maintenance and just being busy with blogging.

I feel I can focus on my ‘core business’ now. So much in fact, I started a second blog – you’re reading it now! 😉 – on WordPress.com.

How about you? Ever feel bugged down by all the technical issues and work on your self-hosted blog?

2 Responses to “Why I abandoned self-hosted WordPress and returned to the mothership”

  1. […] real post is on why I abandoned self-hosted WordPress and returned to the mothership at […]

  2. Reblogged this on Nereus Matthias.

Leave a Reply

